VeggieBoards banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know if this is vegan?

My dad ordered pizza for dinner here.. including a cinnapie. I'm quite confident that it's not lowfat or healthy by any stretch of the imagination, but it looks (and smells!) oh so tempting!


Heck, if anyone out there has a recipe that would imitate this, I'll gladly take it *g*

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,296 Posts
the pizza dough, cinnapie spread, and frosting type substance for dipping are all vegan. I have also heard that the garlic dipping sauce is vegan, since it's made from some form of margarine.

Maybe you could email their corporate office for a listing of ingredients? I'm sure they'd be willing to accomodate you with a list. ^_^
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
26,444 Posts
Someone else will have to decipher this...

Quote:
Michael

Listed below is the ingredients information for the Cinnapie. Have a good day.

Cinnamon Spread: Sugar, margarine (partially hydrogenated soybean and cottonseed oils, water, salt, mono and diglycerides, lecithin, sodium benzoate and citric acid [preservatives], artificial flavor, artificial color, vitamin A palmitate added), bleached enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), soy oil, molasses, cinnamon, water, potassium sorbate (preservative), and soy lecithin.

Icing (White): Sugar, water, corn syrup, stearic acid, artificial color, agar, salt, potassium sorbate (preservative), guar gum, pectin, dextrose, citric acid, sodium hexametaphosphate, natural and artificial flavor.

Pan Pizza Shells: Enriched Flour (Bleached Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Soybean Oil, Shortening (Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Soybean and/or Cottonseed Oils) Olive Oil, Yeast, Salt, Sugar, Glycerin, Wheat Starch, L-Cyst

Shawn

Consumer Services Team
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238,393 Posts
The sugar may be concerning, if you're concerned about sugar. The stearic acid and L-cyst give me a red flag for some reason, but I'll have to look that up... Otherwise...I think it looks okay. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. Though I realllllly don't want to be wrong.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238,393 Posts
Okay, I checked them both out. I checked on the Animal Ingredients A-Z page and found stearic acid to be on the animal ingredients list. I looked through the glossary of animal ingredients in my copy of How It All Vegan, and it describes stearic acid as "Fat from cows and sheep and from dogs and cats euthanized in animal shelters (
), etc. Most often refers to a fatty substance taken from the stomachs of pigs." It later goes on to say that stearic acid can be derived from many vegetable fats and from coconut.

ARGH. It totally depends on where they get their stearic acid from...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
350 Posts
Herself, you are so right about the natural flavor thing. It's an additive. I rememnber doing some research on it years ago but can't remembrer exactly what I came across. I'll have to look into it again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I've heard that 99% of lecithin used in food is derived from soy.

Mono & diglycerides are an iffy ingredient. The stearic acid bothers me even more - I belive they frequently get that from animal sources. I also wonder about the natural & artificial flavors. Considering what this is, i wouldn't be surprised if the natural flavors came from dairy. I've also heard that artificial flavors can be animal derived - if they're processed enough, they can be called artificial.

Also - depending on how "picky" you are, the garlic sauce isn't vegan. They've really fudged around about it, but the source of the lactic acid in it is dairy - they think that just because it's been so far processed from the original source that they can say it doesn't come from an animal - argh! Most of the time they'll replace the garlic sauce for marinara if you ask.

I guess i'll now have to see about making my own cinnapie .. if i come across a good recipe, i'll make sure to share it here


btw - thanks Michael for emailing them for the info!

And then all the hydrogenated fat & preservatives - yuck!
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
26,444 Posts
By the way, when I wrote I asked if it was vegan and even explained what vegan meant. What I got back was what you see above - a list of ingredients. Which is how most companies respond but it always makes me suspicious when they don't also give me a yes or no answer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,617 Posts
Michael, it's because they don't really know. they don't bother to find out where the ingredients come from cause most people probably don't ask.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238,393 Posts
About the lecithin...they specifically list it as soy lecithin...but then you'll see that before the "soy lecthin" (as a completely different ingredient) they list just "lecithin". Isn't that weird? Why 2 different lecithins?

Hey Obsidian Zebra, if you come up with a Cinnapie recipe fork it over!
Maybe Kreeli could come up with one? Hmmmm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Okay, I think i've got this cinnapie figured out - to obtain a recipe replicating it anyhow. After analyzing a sample, to me it looks it could be made with any basic cinnamon roll recipe - just roll out the dough in a circle, spread out the cinnamon filling like a pizza sauce on top, then drizzle on the icing .. Now to find a good vegan cinnamon roll recipe to experiement! yum!
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top