VeggieBoards banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·


Their minestrone, you know the one that says "Vegetarian Classic" ISN'T. I got ready to order it and just asked on a whim to make sure it was vegetarian. The waitress said "no". My husband said "So it isn't made with tomato broth?" She said "yes but she wanted me to know that they also include chicken broth."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,785 Posts
I was told by their manager that their pasta contains no egg, then later I was told that it DID contain egg.

I don't eat there anymore.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Rrrgh. I've eaten their minestrone, happy that there was some vegetarian soup! Bah. Anyone know if their breadsticks are vegan?? Im thinking no, just wanna check though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,866 Posts
I've never ate at Olive Garden before, but this is especially frustrating because it's a place that can very easily offer plenty of vegan foods.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
765 Posts
I think their breadsticks have a butter and garlic coating - at least they taste that way anyway. I don't know if I'd trust asking for them without it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,874 Posts
I used to love eating at Olive Garden because of all of the so-called "veg-friendly" food, but alas, I won't be eating there anymore.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
504 Posts
If I remember correctly, even the Italian dressing on their salad isn't vegan. I went there for my friend's bridal shower and all I could eat was salad without dressing (I brought my own dressing). I was told the pasta was made with egg....who would notice the difference if it wasn't?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,785 Posts
If you still want to eat there, just ask for salad without dressing and that vinegar & oil be brought instead. Croutons are not vegan either. They will make plain breadsticks for you if you ask...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
From the FAQs on the Olive Garden website:

Which menu selections are vegetarian?

A few of our menu items can be adjusted to accommodate a vegan or vegetarian diet, but none wholly meet the criteria. Depending on your personal philosophy, we can suggest the following items as meatless, but not necessarily vegetarian or vegan:

Minestrone soup (vegetable and mushroom base; no meat protein)

Garden Salad (without dressing)

Marinara Sauce (mushroom base; no meat protein)

Capellini Promodoro

Eggplant Parmigiana

Fettuccine Alfredo
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Originally posted by Dia7



Minestrone soup (vegetable and mushroom base; no meat protein)

I hope this is true but I still won't be able to enjoy it. The thought will always be that there is chicken in it. I swear I wish I hadn't asked the waitress!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,180 Posts
Olive Garden is such a crappy restaurant to begin with that none of this info is really surprising. The quality of their food was always shoddy, but during the past three or four years they've reached new lows.

I was "forced" to eat there a few weeks ago with my mother. She ordered eggplant parmigana. There, literally, was no eggplant in the dish, just thinly slices of breading covered in sauce and cheese. It was extremely disgusting.

BTW, I ordered a cheeseless pizza with artichoke hearts. Breadstick dough (without garlic goo), marinara sauce and hearts. So that's a vegan option for those who must eat in that god forsaken hole.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
765 Posts
Has anyone ever had the ravioli portabella? It's in a cheese sauce, but I got it before and was so paranoid there was meat stuffed in there with the mushrooms. I kept staring at it and wondering.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,045 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Dia7

Capellini Promodoro
i've only been to olive garden once since i went veg*n but i ordered that dish and it was yummy.

don't they also have a bean soup? i forget exactly, and maybe this was too long ago, but i remember there being a vegetarian bean soup..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,024 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Dia7



Minestrone soup (vegetable and mushroom base; no meat protein)

Maybe it varies from resturant to resturant. I've been there repeatedly since becoming veg and each waitor/waitress that I have asked about the minestrone has said that it does contain some animal broth.

Every time I've had to resort to a side salad with oil and vinigar
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,451 Posts
it does vary from restaurant to restaurant. the best thing to do is ask the management of a particular olive garden if their versions of thos emeals are vegetarian.

ie, ask about chicken stock, butter (the breadsticks, even with the garlic stuff, are vegan at the olive garden that i go to), cheese, etc. find out how they make what they make.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top