VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi

i am extremely worried cause i have been drinking oatly (fortified) for the whole time ive been vegan and i just read something saying vitamin D isn't vegan... i feel really stupid. i've sent an email to them to ask if its vegan or not but i just wish i hadn't chosen the enriched version...if i'd gone for the standard it would have only contained oats and water and salt.

does anyone know anything about this?

 

·
Unintentionally Kittened
Joined
·
683 Posts
Vitamin D3 used to fortify foods usually from sheep wool or fish livers

Vitamin D2 is usually vegan

Don't worry about what you did, you can't undo it; I drank 8th Continent for a few months before I learned that the vit D came from wool. Now I think it is vegan.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
787 Posts
There's a good chance it's vitamin D2. Few deliberately non-dairy products include D3, just because it reduces their consumer base.

But even if it was D3, don't sweat it! It's a tiny amount, in any case, and far better than many other products you could've been using.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
i have contacted the manufacturer and it was D3 derived from animal wool

so umm i'm feeling quite down about that

but at least i know not to drink it anymore

now i've just got the regular kind - just oats, water and salt in that thanks very much
no animal products
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top