VeggieBoards banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

My name is Ellie and I am new to both these boards and to vegetarianism as a whole. I decided to undergo this change because of health reasons (hypertension, obesity) and because I have gotten food poisoning twice in the last month. I have a freezer full of meat and a pantry full of tuna so I'm trying to eat it all before I totally switch. Basically I'm just only buying vegetarian products and only eating meat at home once a day until I finish. Is this a reasonable way to switch? My second question is that I have a severe allergy to peanuts. Is this going to be an issue?

Well thanks for letting me babble on here. Oh and Happy New Year.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Hello!

The allergy shouldn't really be more of an issue than it already is. As far as just eating all of the things you already have, it may make it more difficult to switch, or increase you likelihood of cravings because you are used to having these things in your home. I really am not sure, though, I was a cold tofurky veg.

·
Registered
12,079 Posts
You get choose if you want to do it gradually or go 'cold tofurkey'. I see nothing wrong with finishing up what you have. I ended up giving away a lot of my non-vegetarian items when I first started. I was too excited to start my new way of eating to do it too slowly. But do what feels right for you and welcome to Veggieboards!

·
Registered
321 Posts
No, your allergies to peanuts will not hinder your conversion to vegetarianism. You can use cashew butter or almond butter, etc. in place of peanut butter as a protein source, though it is a tad bit more espensive.