VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to vegeterianism (5 weeks in) and I'm just worrying a little here because I have managed to get into this mentality where I eat more than I used to because I think, its ok, you need to substitute for the meat. Currently I'm laid in my bed feeling very full and bloated after having overeaten bean stew (chopped tomatoes, veggies and mixed beans). I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this problem? I know it's weird but can't seem to help it!

·
Registered
7,577 Posts
I think I did have that problem when I first went vegetarian years ago because I really love to eat and vegetarian food just tasted so much better.
But after a while I began to eat slightly smaller meals, but more often, which felt more comfortable for me. I eat about four to five times a day now.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Also humans are more or less "emotional eaters". We feel hungry when our stomach is not full (regardless of how much energy was in the food that we already ate). Meat needs a lot longer to digest. Ergo if you eat no meat it's best to have 2 or 3 smaller meals instead of one bigger meat based one. But it really depends on the person.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrunchyMcFlurry View Post

I'm pretty new to vegeterianism (5 weeks in) and I'm just worrying a little here because I have managed to get into this mentality where I eat more than I used to because I think, its ok, you need to substitute for the meat. Currently I'm laid in my bed feeling very full and bloated after having overeaten bean stew (chopped tomatoes, veggies and mixed beans). I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this problem? I know it's weird but can't seem to help it!
I think it's probably fine. Veggie food is in general less calorie dense, so eating more isn't really an issue (within reason of course).

·
Registered
12,282 Posts