VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, Im very new to all this and i was just about to have a bread roll with Flora diet spread on and happened to look at the ingredients and was appalled to see there is gelatine (pork) in it.

Is there any products i can use to put on my bread that does not have this in it in the Uk?

Thanks

·
Registered
7,858 Posts
yes!

if you are lacto-ovo, of course you could alsways go with butter...AFAIK 'pure' brand of margarine (all types) is vegan and so is vitalite. I'm not sure about which brands are non-vegan but are veg, though, sorry.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by isowish View Post

yes!

if you are lacto-ovo, of course you could alsways go with butter...AFAIK 'pure' brand of margarine (all types) is vegan and so is vitalite. I'm not sure about which brands are non-vegan but are veg, though, sorry.
Vitalite is vegan?!

Seems like anchor spreadable, country life and lurpak are all vegetarian. Just check the labels when buying, most that are suitable for vegetarians will mark them as such especially own brands.

·
Registered
7,858 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vheogl View Post

Vitalite is vegan?!
well...I don't buy it regularly, so I could have missed something. I have checked over the ingredients before my girlfriend used it to make cake and it seemed okay, and it is definitely dairy free 'cause it says so on the packaging.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by isowish View Post

well...I don't buy it regularly, so I could have missed something. I have checked over the ingredients before my girlfriend used it to make cake and it seemed okay, and it is definitely dairy free 'cause it says so on the packaging.
After that i had to go and check, seems vegan to me. Definatly dairy free and vegetarian anyway plus cheaper than pure (though i love pure). Argh and now i'm stuck singing 'whooooaa vitaltie..' in my head!

·
Registered
800 Posts