VeggieBoards banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am new to sprouting and have been searching for info on how to sprout quinoa and soon Ill want to know how to sprout buckwheat as well. So far I have found the following procedure: let it sit in water, then rinse and drain, rinse and drain, rinse and drain, etc. I am learning about sprouting because Id like to have grains for breakfast sometimes and Im not sure that I have the time to cook them in the morning. I set out hoping that I could just let the grains sit in water overnight and then eat them in the morning! It doesnt sound like that is possible

Also, I am a Celiac so I must avoid the gluten grains.

And, Id assume that sprouts will have a lower glycemic index value than their cooked counterparts I am hypoglycemic, but I dont want the GI to be too low.

Can anyone help me out with these questions?

I will keep skimming through the forum for more information. Thanks for any help!

Drew

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh yeah I forgot to add that since I'm a student I might not always be at home to rinse and drain my sprouts at the necessary times. Do the rinsing and draining have to be done at precise times?

And does a sprouter help?

·
Registered
898 Posts
Hi there!

I have helpful links about sprouting times. Quinoa is in there. I have sprouted buckwheat and it is very easy to sprout! I made raw pizza crust out of it! I have also sprouted barley, purple barley, wheat, rye, and chickpeas too. I am trying to sprout purple corn right now.

Here is the link with sprouting times:

http://chetday.com/sprouts.html