VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
7,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to being a vegetarian, and I have some questions.

1. What do vegans put on bagels? Is there a vegan substitute for cream cheese? I've tried margarine on bagels in the past, and it just doesn't work. I'm just too Jewish for that.

2. Is peanut butter vegan? There were some ingredients on the jar that I don't understand - "mono - and diglycerides". Jif brand, if it matters. I guess there are lots of non-vegan ingredients that I won't recognize on labels. I'm not trying to be vegan, but if it's convenient...

3. Does eggplant have any nutritional value? It seems like a good meat substitute to eat at Italian restaurants, but I seem to recall hearing that it's completely worthless nutritionally. Is that true? I don't remember where I heard it.

4. Am I the only vegetarian in the world who can't stand the taste of hummus? I never understood why it was so popular, but now that I'm reading about vegetarian nutrition, I realize it's a major protein source. I'd rather eat peanut butter, tofu, soy products, or just about anything else.

5. What vitamins would you recommend? Are most commonly available vitamins vegan? I've checked nutrition in them before, but never ingredients.

6. Are all Yves prepared meals spicy or just the Thai one? I tried that one, because it was the only one they had at my grocery store, and it was too spicy for me. I don't like spicy foods.

I'm sure I'll have more questions, but that's all I can think of right now. Thanks in advance...

--Fromper

· Registered
283 Posts
Welcome to VB! I'm new too, so I cant really answer everything, but I'm sure I can manage a few
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fromper View Post

I'm new to being a vegetarian, and I have some questions.

1. What do vegans put on bagels? Is there a vegan substitute for cream cheese? I've tried margarine on bagels in the past, and it just doesn't work. I'm just too Jewish for that.