VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi! this is my very first post to this forum
. i'm a brand new vegetarian and i'm a server at a restaurant that serves meat. i live in a very small town so there isn't a lot of job options to begin with plus i'm a nursing student and can only work three days a week so i'm sure they wouldn't hire me anyway. since another job is not really an option right now does anyone have advice on how to cope with this situation??

·
Registered
125 Posts
Welcome!

No advice here. I just want to say congrats on being vegetarian even though your job serves meat.

·
Registered
908 Posts
Well, what exactly is the problem? Are you simply grossed out by having to deal with meat or do you feel like you support meat-eating by working there? Or something entirely different?

In any case, welcome to the board!

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
it grosses me out. it's mostly the smell, and all i can think about is how i'm bringing people a plate of dead animals.

·
Registered
2,769 Posts
Welcome to VB! I totally understand the smell issue but with limited job options... what can you do? You can attempt to find another job but sometimes we have to do things to survive that are unpleasant. I sympathize...
Good luck to you!

·
Registered
456 Posts
Welcome to VB! Try to remember that you can only control your actions, and you are doing the right thing for yourself by being veg. Good luck in school and just think about the shinny new job you will have when you graduate!

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
thanks for the replies and support and welcomes. and yes the thought that this is just temporary does help.

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
welcome, and just going to back up the other responses. In a day when we have to be thankful for having jobs, keep doing the best you can. It will only be temporary.