VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of my new year's resolutions is to become a vegetarian. I am very new to vegetarianism and need some advice. I come from a meat-eating family, who will not consider any vegetarian items. Can anybody give me some advice and help me?

·
Registered
100 Posts
It's great you've made the step to become veggie!!! It depends what kind of advice you're looking for - people have different needs and concerns when becoming vegetarian.
What in particular are you concerned about?

Check out the vegetarian society for loads of useful information.
https://www.vegsoc.org/ I understand what it's like coming from a meat-eating family, I do too, but you just have to push through and keep on standing up for yourself.

·
Registered
100 Posts
You could do 'vegetarian days' a week - start with 2, move to 3, etc, until you're confident being fully vegetarian.

Or try to cook your favourite meat meals with vegetarian alternatives! There's quorn, tofu, and so many substitutes out there, so it's almost like nothing has changed.

One thing I will say though is, forgive yourself for slip ups. Obviously the aim is not to have them, but I had them, and it really knocked my progress when I really punished myself for it. Just acknowledge that they happen and learn from them.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am giving myself one more day to eat meat, then I am starting this vegetarian diet tomorrow at the beginning of the new year. What is quorn? I have never heard of it. Also, how do I make sure I am getting the right amount of nutrients that are vital to my health?

·
Registered
100 Posts
Quorn is a meat replacement.
Good luck for tomorrow!

And eat your five fruit & veg a day, make sure bread, potatoes, pasta etc for starchy foods are about a third of your diet, make sure you keep eating dairy foods for vitamin B12. Also nuts and pinto beans are pretty good for protein!

·
Registered