VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone!

My name is Brittany. I am new to veganism (and this forum), having only been vegan for about a month. I feel very strongly about my new lifestyle and want to start off right. I've been doing a bunch of research, bought a lot of cookbooks, trying new foods i've never heard of before...Its fun and I want to give myself every possible chance to suceed.

So far, i've been surprised how easy the transition has been. However, I have a disclaimer to make: before going vegan, I wasn't even veggie. I wouldnt say I ate a lot of meat or diary, but, to be honest, it wasn't something I really put a lot of thought into. I say this because I feel like I have a lot of learning to do and i suspect there is a lot of basic nutrition/animal wellness issues that I am still completely unaware of.

1.) I know not to eat eggs/milk/honey, etc...but there are some animal products that are more elusive, right? (Casein, i think?) Are there other ingredients that I should be on the look out for, that I might not typically associate with being non-vegan?

2.) Are there vitamins/supplements that it would be advisable to take because of the transition to a vegan diet?

3.) What about beyond the vegan diet? How would a beginning vegan go about being more conscious about animal products in other areas such as comestics/beauty care?

I'd really appreciate any help/tips/advice regarding beginning veganism...Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
113 Posts