VeggieBoards banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!
Just wanted to post and say hi!! Just went ovo-veggie about a week ago to see if I can control my LPR (silent reflux). I've been on meds for 8+ years and it's not getting any better!! I wasn't a huge meat eater but I was one none-the-less. I suspect milk and milk products are a big factor in my LPR as I would feel horrible after eating them, especially ice cream. I chose to keep eggs in my diet, for now, as I really enjoy them!! I only eat maybe 2 a week (organic, free range) and continue to bake with them. (I was a baker in a restaurant in my younger days....love to play with flour!!) I don't do soy but I just tried tempeh and it wasn't half bad. I may incorporate that into my diet maybe once a week. I also run anywhere from 2.5 to 5 miles most days and have found myself really enjoying my runs now!! I started running abut 3 years ago at the ripe age of 45 (ya'll can do the math...it's ok..hahahaha) and found it to be quite liberating, not to mention good for me!! So there ya have it! Nice to meet you all!!
~Tamara~

·
Registered
4,483 Posts
Hi there and welcome aboard! My sister in law has been a runner for many years and simply loves it. It sounds like you enjoy cooking, and I hope you'll check out some of our recipes and visit some vegetarian recipe blogs and discover how good meatless can be. Dairy can do a number on the innards, and I have yet to meet anyone who didn't feel a million times better after removing it from the menu.
We're glad you're here! Stick around. There are a plenty of very nice and knowledgeable folks here on VB.

·
Premium Member
16,664 Posts
Hi, welcome to Veggieboards!

·
Ex-*****
5,391 Posts
Welcome Tamara! Glad to have you on board! (BTW, I moved your thread to the "introduce yourself" subforum.)

·
Super Moderator
8,961 Posts
Welcome!