VeggieBoards banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...these boards are awesome!
Hi, all...this is my first time posting here, so be gentle, please...
I was actually wondering if anyone had any advice about going veg when you are pregnant? I had been slowly taking steps towards cutting animal products out of my diet when I found out I was pg (currently 16 weeks now), and since then I've kinda slacked off because I wasn't sure it was a good idea. But, I'm getting to the point that I can't STAND to even look at meat or fish...quite honestly, the thought of it makes me gag much of the time. My doc says it shouldn't be a problem as long as I keep eating enough calories and make sure I get a balance of foods, but beyond that she didn't offer a whole lot of help. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated...thanks!

--Allie

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
It should be FINE.
I was mistakenly told that I could not be a pregnant & healthy vegetarian so I went back to eating meat. And then I was nursing and same thing. Then pregnant and nursing again (LOL~ 5 years straight, now, pregnant and/or nursing!)

Anyway... The things to worry about are calcium, healthy fat, protein, and iron. Iron especially while pregnant. Even the average woman can get anemic while pregnant.

Taking a prenatal vitamin is a great place to start. You'll be getting your calcium and iron through that, even if you are accidentally low in your diet for those 2.

Calcium foods:

Black Beans 1 cup, 120 mg calcium

Navy Beans\t1 cup, 130 mg calcium

Fortified Cereal\t1 cup, 300 mg calcium

Soybeans, cooked \t1 cup, 180 mg calcium

Spinach, cooked \t1/2 cup, 130 mg calcium

Bok Choy\t1/2 cup, 80 mg calcium

Kale, cooked\t1/2 cup, 90 mg calcium

Corn Tortilla\t1, 6 inch, 50 mg calcium

Greens, mustard \t1/2 cup, 100 mg calcium

Fortified Orange Juice\t1 cup, 300 mg calcium

Fortified Cereal \t1 cup, 300 mg

Waffle, fortified\t1, 150 mg

Soy milk, fortified\t1 cup, 400 mg