VeggieBoards banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im very new to being vegetarian: I started on the 1st March. I changed for the health reasons and for religious/ethnical reasons also. I watch the Meet Your Meat video (all the way through: no idea how I managed to do that) and as such there is no way I will ever touch meat or any slaughter by-products in my life again. My mother however only changed because she says that she doesnt really like meat. But tonight she just told me that she and my Gran (whos been having meat at lunchtimes as mum brought her some from the supermarket) will be eating a meat pie and shes going back to eating meat. Ive been told that Im not allowed to cook my own meals it cost to much and I cant buy m own as Im not allowed a job until I leave school. Ive tried the get paid for doing chores thing and been told that I should do them because I want to not because I want to get paid.

I dont want to try and stop her and Gran from eating meat (although I would like them too) but I dont want to eat it myself. Ive asked her to watch the Meet Your Meat video but she refused. Ive been told that if I dont eat meat then Im going to be ill and Ive shown her all the things about meat how bad that is for you etc and all the stuff about how you can find all the nutrients in other foods but her response was But you dont eat nuts so you cant be vegetarian otherwise youll be ill.
I cant eat nuts Mum because if I do I will end up in hospital and if I eat enough of them I wont even make it to the hospital. Her: I know that so youll have to eat meat and anyway Im not cooking separate meals for you and you arent cooking them yourself either.