VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My daughter has started biting her fingernails. She's mad with me for not tolerating it. It makes her little hands look so ugly... I have no real experience with this. Neither I nor my sister were nailbiters. Her teacher said most kids in class do "something" (sucking on their hair, biting nails, sucking thumb, nibbling on the ends of their sweater zippers, ...).

She used to be very good at cutting her own nails with kid's nail scissors, I can't imagine why she now prefers to bite them... it started pretty suddenly and even though she's always been very 'oral', I really can't imagine WHY she started doing this at this particular moment. Things are fine at home and things seem fine in school (I asked). She may have picked it up from a little friend maybe.

Any advice appreciated ! I hear none of the "classical" tricks (like using the foul tasting nail "polish") really work ?

·
Vegan Police Officer
5,211 Posts
Nail biting is due to nervousness. Some people are more nervous than others. It's not serious.

I bit my nails till I was over 20. It made my hands look ugly, but it didn't destroy my life and I had plenty of boyfriends who never commented.

And then one day... I stopped. I never even notice I stopped. I suppose I had solved whatever was making me do it. The time was ready.

Don't sweat about small things.

If you stop her biting her nails, her nervousness will just be blocked up inside her, or she'll find another way to vent it which may be worse.

·
Registered
1,983 Posts
I think it will be hard to get her to stop if she doesn't want to. This is probably something she'll need to grow out of herself.