VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to being vegan, so forgive me if my questions are super dumb.
I am reading through some threads here- and I am having trouble drawing the line for myself. I don't know if I want to draw the line at sugar- (seeing Oreos are possibly off the table reading another topic on here). I'm the kind of person that wants to do right by how horrible animals are being treated, and I am newly discovering all of these things that are happening behind closed doors. I regret it taking so long- I never had any idea- or was turning blinders on before. But now I know and I can't look back.
So after being vegetarian for some time now, last week I decided to become vegan. My husband and kids are remaining vegetarian, through some thoughtful discussion, my husband would prefer the kids remain vegetarian and not vegan and he won't get past it.

So drawing the line is difficult morally for me. I am giving my kids dairy, and my husband- but I won't have it. I feel horrible even giving my kids this stuff. That makes me a participant in perpetuating the industry. I want to make an attempt at visiting local farms to find humanely treated animals for their dairy products, but I don't really feel that any of it is humane and I can't get past it.

I feed my dogs dog food. Who knows what the heck is in that. I don't even know where to find vegan dog food or if that is even possible.

I look around my house and see so many animal products all around me! My furniture, clothes- I don't even know where to begin. Its so overwhelming.