VeggieBoards banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I scheduled to take 2 of my 3 kitties to the vet today for vaccinations. 3rd kitty is next weekend. Latte and Mocha were going to go but only Mocha did. Latte is a shelter cat I got at about age 5 months. She is always skittish and refuses to let you hold her but loves being petted. I tried to get her into the carrier and she became 5 pounds of teeth and unholy anger. I tried to soothe her but when I picked her up again after she popped out of the carrier before I could latch it, she pooped all over the place and bit the poop out of me. It hurt!
I was able to take her when I first got her because she was younger and sick and weak. This is my first try with her an adult and healthy.
They're all indoor cats so is it so terrible if I vaccinate the other 2 but not her? It so stressful on her (and me) that it doesn't seem worth it. Vet was no help and the tech advised me to bring her in so they could sedate her. ummmm... how?

·
Registered
6,850 Posts
Some vaccines you can buy and give yourself. At least that's the case with dogs. I think many pets are over-vaccinated anyway and I don't vaccinate my pets yearly. Only thing is rabies which is probably required by law and has to be given by a vet. You will have to make sure she never bites some jerk who would turn it in.

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I remember my Dad would give his dogs injections but I don't know if I could do it myself. Yea the rabies is the one I'm most worried about. The cat the bites is probably one who needs it the most. But this is the only time she's bitten anyone and I've had her for 2 years.

·
Registered
3,705 Posts
Put a towel over her head and try putting her in the carried quickly... Our one cat is squirmy and the second she sees that carrier she get get out of arms no matter what and she is FAST! The towel thing usually works for her...

·
Banned
841 Posts