VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Fabulous
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Friends!
I'm starting my vegan journey! So I have many questions i'd like to ask but for now i'm just asking one. Can I eat things that have the "may contain" "allergy" label? e.g: may contain milk, eggs, etc. Or do I avoid those? What do you guys do? Do you eat things that say may contain milk and eggs on the package or no?

xoxo Kaitlyn
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16,664 Posts
Hi Kaitlyn, welcome to Veggieboards!

Allergy warnings just mean the food was made in the same factory and sometimes on the same equipment as products that contain dairy or eggs, most vegans don't worry about it because the chance of any cross-contamination is unlikely and if there is it would be inconsequential.
 
  • Like
Reactions: David3

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
Huh. I assumed everyone avoided them. I do. I think the actual risk is low though.
 

·
Impeach the gangster
Joined
·
10,052 Posts
I avoid them out of principle. I've been vegan many years, and it's become normal for me to reject the 'may contain' ingredients.
 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,667 Posts
The "may contain" labels are meaningless, unless you have allergies to tiny quantities of the listed items.

The "may contain" labels are placed there by the food company's lawyers, to protect the company from lawsuits (some valid, some frivolous) by people with food allergies.
.
 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,667 Posts
Although the "May Contain" allergy labels can be ignored (unless you have an allergy to the listed items), the "Contains" allergy warnings should be heeded. If a product "Contains" ingredients, then this means that the ingredients are present in significant quantities. For example, this whole wheat bread contains milk:

 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,667 Posts
Lastly, I want to present this warning label. An allergy label warning about peanuts, on a bag of . . . peanuts:

 

·
honeyandcardamom
Joined
·
17 Posts
LMAO!!! Too funny! Hmmm, I wonder if there are any peanuts in this bag of peanuts??? hehehe

I totally agree with all the above, and I just want to throw it out there, that as a new vegan myself, I think it is important to keep in mind that everything we consume comes down to personal choice and what you are/aren't comfortable with. No two vegans are alike. As an example, I personally have no issue with honey, but as a rule, vegans typically don't eat honey. I also think that if you decide to be flexible at times, there is no need to beat yourself up. I am a big baby when it comes to the holidays, and I have always got one of those chocolate advent calendars every year. I'm just not ready to give up that tradition. I just went vegan this month, and have decided to let myself "cheat" by having an advent calendar this December, even though there is a small amount of milk powder in the chocolate. Maybe by next year I won't feel comfortable with that anymore, who knows. Take it day by day, and feel free to make your own decisions.
 

·
Plant Powered
Joined
·
439 Posts
LOL!! I am a graphic designer who does a lot of food packaging, and the "may contain" statements are definitely there for legal reasons - it used to say "may contain traces of" because the amounts are so so negligible, but has since changed wording. I personally don't worry about it, but of course, always look for the allergen statement 'contains: milk, eggs, etc'

LOL @ the peanuts package, we have had to put that warning on peanut butter labels, which is so dumb... but the one that takes the cake for me was the diaper package that said "do not use near open flame" - like who is letting their baby jump over campfires, anyway??? LOLOL
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top