VeggieBoards banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I'm thinking of going vegetarian my food budget is £20-£25 per week for the two of us. We cook all our food from scratch but have no access to land to grow our own. An allotment is not possible for us.
Is a vegetarian lifestyle possible on such a low budget?

The Mr has Sjögren's syndrome, an autoimmune disease does anyone know if a vegetarian diet would benefit him.

Thank you.

·
Registered
6,609 Posts
Josephine, can you tell me what sorts of foods you buy each week with that budget before going vegetarian?

I just read the Mayoclinic page on Sjogen's syndrome. The only dietary recommendation there is that the person drink lots of water, try to stimulate saliva flow to relieve dry-mouth symptoms, and then to brush one's teeth after every meal. I didn't see anything that would indicate that a vegetarian diet would affect it in any way. But, then again, I am not a doctor, so if you are very concerned, you should consult an expert.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi thanks for replying.

We currently live on pasta, rice, porridge, cous cous, potatoes and home made bread. The cheapest mince, value cooking bacon, frozen value chicken portions. Vegetables cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, onions, garlic, peppers, courgettes, squash, parsnips, carrots, mushrooms, frozen peas, spinach and sweetcorn. A large pot of plain yoghurt, cheese, milk, margarine stuff, eggs. Pulses and beans. Spices and i grow herbs on my windowsill. Lemons, apples, bananas.

That's my shopping list and with that we make large pots of pasta sauce to last about 5 days in various guises, lasagne, chilli, etc. Mixed veg and potatoes baked with bacon in cheese sauce. Roast chicken, chicken curry with dahl and spinach, kebabs with roast veggies flat breads hummus and yoghurt mint dip, cottage pie, savoury rice. Soups which have pulses and the leftover veggies in.

That's pretty much it.