VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a silly story to share...

I am a teacher at a private preschool and I work with all ages, including infants. There is a little guy there (7 months old) who has been wearing clothing made specifically for girls. He is the cutest little guy... olive skin, black hair, big brown eyes. His parents are from India... maybe they just do not realize it is girl clothing or maybe they don't care? Anyway the other day he came to school wearing a lilac colored onesie with a dark purple tulip and a purple lacey ribbon/bow on the front. We thought "ok, so someone gave him a girls outfit and they figure they might as well use it." Plus his father brought him in so we thought maybe he just didn't pay attention (and the boy is the only child, there is no big sister). But then today he showed up wearing a somewhat frilly yellow outfit with little ribbons/bows on the front... and mom brought him in so we know she must've noticed how *pretty* he looked.

I just think it is funny. I can't wait to see what he will wear tomorrow. Anyone else cross-dress their kids?

·
Registered
2,326 Posts
well, i am all about not typing based on gender and all that..however i would not put my son in what society determines as appropriate gender specific clothing. tho i have put my son in pink crap--at home. i have now thrree year old boy/girl twins. i had put my son in pinkish stuff around the house--all based upon what is clean--in public i would exercise more caution as i do not want him to be typed in that manner. now that they are older i do strive to dress them in a manner that is consistent with how boys and girls dress--according to the societal norms. not to say that i buck that--i just do not think that typing in any sort of manner is good

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·