VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,202 Posts
According to a post on vegsource.com's Vegan forum, it's vegan. It seems to be a prevalent ingredient in vegan recipes; I'd be surprised if it wasn't vegan.

The ingredients on the liquid smoke sold here say "liquid smoke" which isn't very informative.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,211 Posts
Caramal colour comes in four different varieties: E150a-d. Each one means something different. E150a is plain caramel. E150b is caustic sulphite caramel. E150c is Ammonia caramel, and E150d is sulphite ammonia caramel. This is what gives cocal cola its distinct brown colour.

Anyhow, the food colouring, caramel is vegan, as far as I know. it's made from treating sugar, which basiclaly means adding some acid, and heating it up. I've no idea if the sugar is refined, but personally, I would say that caramel is vegan. It usually comes from either beet sugar, maize sugar or cane sugar.

Caramel is the most popular food colouring there is. It's used in pepsi and coke, which are the two most popular drinks in almost every first world country in the world except Scotland, and its brown colour is favoured for browning a lot of things, including soy sauce. Having been an a food-colour free diet for much of my childhood, I will say that avoiding caramel is difficult at best. It's in almost everything.

I'm not vegan, but if I were, I owuldn't actively avoid refined sugar. Alos, the vegan society's blacklist of E numbers does not contain E150 (caramel) so i'd assuem that there is not much to worry about.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loki View Post

Caramal colour comes in four different varieties: E150a-d. Each one means something different. E150a is plain caramel. E150b is caustic sulphite caramel. E150c is Ammonia caramel, and E150d is sulphite ammonia caramel. This is what gives cocal cola its distinct brown colour.

Anyhow, the food colouring, caramel is vegan, as far as I know. it's made from treating sugar, which basiclaly means adding some acid, and heating it up. I've no idea if the sugar is refined, but personally, I would say that caramel is vegan. It usually comes from either beet sugar, maize sugar or cane sugar.

Caramel is the most popular food colouring there is. It's used in pepsi and coke, which are the two most popular drinks in almost every first world country in the world except Scotland, and its brown colour is favoured for browning a lot of things, including soy sauce. Having been an a food-colour free diet for much of my childhood, I will say that avoiding caramel is difficult at best. It's in almost everything.

I'm not vegan, but if I were, I owuldn't actively avoid refined sugar. Alos, the vegan society's blacklist of E numbers does not contain E150 (caramel) so i'd assuem that there is not much to worry about.
Oh good, more ammonia in our food.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top