VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those of you who have achieved fluency in another language, how did you do it?

As for my situation, I'm new in Holland, and would like to learn Dutch as quickly as I can. It's a blessing and a curse that many people here speak English fluently, to the point where if I ask a simple question using Dutch then I'm often I'm answered in English. So between that and the fact that there's a lot of English on the radio, I've completely ruled out the immersion method as a way to learn Dutch. I was using livemocha.com for a few weeks, and while it was good for expanding my vocabulary, I found it to be not so good for helping me to get the grammar, verb conjugations, etc down. And my Dutch boyfriend also noticed some grammar errors when we looked over the website together. It's not a life or death situation for me to learn Dutch quickly, as I still have a good social life here and getting a job where I can use English once I have my work permit is doable though not as easy as if I was fluent in both languages, but I'd still like to learn it as quickly as possible. Last but not least, language classes here are expensive, but once my residence permit is approved (should be early next year), then the government will help me pay for the classes.

So basically, looking for good cheap or free ways to improve my Dutch untill my classes are subsidized. Ideally, I'd like to be able to say that I'm fluent this time in 2 years.

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
I am a foreign language fanatic

Here's a few basic tips.

-Keep individual aspects of language in mind, and be sure to hit them all regularly. Listening comprehension, thinking, responding, reading, writing...

-Study daily, no exceptions. 15 min per day is better than 2 hours every other day.

-Review often. Nothing ever goes in the "permanently learned" bin.