VeggieBoards banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi there. i'm just beginning my lacto-ovo vegetarian way of life and i'm very confused about what i can and can't eat. i have vowed never to eat meat again after watching that "meet your meat" video.

so i was wondering about the following foods.

mcdonalds fries? (they are cooked in animal stuff, aren't they?)

chocolate?

coke?

if i think of anymore, i'll reply to this. thank you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'm not sure about McD fries in the US but in Europe they no longer use the beef stuff, I think. I haven't been to a McD in years, so I'm not really sure.

Chocolate. There's plenty of vegan chocolate available, most chocolate is lacto-vegetarian. Check this link for discussion on different kinds of veg*n chocolate: http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...&threadid=5090

Coke is vegan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,211 Posts
McDonalds fries - I know thati nthe USA, they fry them in vegetable oil, but they add a natural flavour to them to give them some flavour which has "lacked" after they stopped frying them in lard. Anyhow, this natural flavour is from beef. So in the USA mcdonalds fries are not vegetarian. However, in the UK, it's simple potatoes, canola oil and salt. So UK McD's fries are vegetarian, but not in the USA. i'm unsure of other countries.

Chocolate - Most chocolate is vegetarian. However, some brands of chocolate may contain gelatin, which is from animals. You'r eovo-lacto, so milk chocolate will be OK. But most chocolate shoudl be OK.

And coke is vegetarian, and even vegan. It's not good for your teeth, but it's not got dead animals in it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,541 Posts
Taraelf, nothing fried from McDs in Aus, they use animal fat (not vegetable oil). So pretty much nothing from Maccas (maybe the cheese and tomato sandwich).

Choc is tricky, most are OK for lacto-ovos, but watch out for ones with gelatin (a lot of the creamy-filled ones have gelatin, like I think caramello koalas).I think red smarties have carmine? (red colour, E120, also known as cochineal.)

I'm in Aus too so I can help you out with local things... so can the other Aussies around the boards...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,398 Posts
I'm in Aus, chocolate the main thing is gelatin, thats in choccies that have stuff like nougat and marshmallow..oh and cherry ripes. But most are fine...im pretty sure Caramello Koalas dont contain gelatin because its runny not jelly-ish.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,081 Posts
Ever since it came out that McDonald's (USA) was using non-veg ingredients in their fries, I'm a bit paranoid about eating french-fries anywhere. Rather sad, really, since fries are one of the few veg things to be found on almost any menu. Actually, when my friends want to go out for chicken wings (one of our favorite bars) I usually order fries and a vegan wing-sauce ... but now I'll have to check on their fries' seasoning.

On the bright side, I've rediscovered how AWESOME homemade french fries are. (I do them plain, or seasoned with garlic salt, onion powder and cayenne. Then covered in ketchup -- goodbye mayonnaise.) My mom and I used to love to make them, but I probably hadn't cooked them in ten or fifteen years. Yummy!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
452 Posts
Remember that there are vegetable-based alternatives to many animal ingredients that often share the same name on the ingredient list. It can get confusing, and for the most part I'd recommend not getting too nit-picky about the little things until you're comfortable with the basics of your new diet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,541 Posts
Hmmm, I'm positive caramello koalas used to have gelatin. The peppermint type does though...

(Peppermint)

Ingredients: Milk Chocolate 70%) (Full Cream Milk, Sugar, Milk Solids, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, 476), Flavours), Sugar, Wheat Glucose Syrup, Water, Vegetable Fat, Milk Solids, Flavours, Gelatine, Egg Albumen, Salt, Colours (102, 133). May contain traces of nuts. Milk Chocolate contains Cocoa Solids 26%, Milk Solids 27%

I'm still suss about caramello koalas though... they have a similar consistency to peppermint.

Anyway, to check the ingredients out... http://www.cadbury.com.au/health/ingredients.php
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top