VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,548 Posts
I think it can be.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
from godairyfree.org

Lactic Acid - Lactic acid is created via the fermentation of sugars, and can be found in many dairy-free and/or vegan foods. Most commercially used lactic acid is fermented from carbohydrates, such as cornstarch, potatoes or molasses, and thus dairy-free. Though lactic acid can be fermented from lactose, its use is generally (I said generally; where concerned, always check with the manufacturer) restricted to dairy products, such as ice cream and cream cheese.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Okay, thanks a lot guys for the clarification.
I'm trying to buy more and more vegan things and found some vegan noodle bowls at Aldi, which is a cheap grocery store in my area. They were labeled vegan, but I noticed it contained lactic acid, so I was going to email the company if this was a mistake. But I'm glad to hear that it is not!
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top