VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a big old bunch of kale and I typically make a boring old salad with it but I want some variety in my life. I eat very boringly, because I'm an unimaginative cook, which typically leads to eating unhealthily.

What can I do with kale? I prefer eating it in the raw, but I'd def. cook something simple. And I'd like it to be a substantial meal, not just a side...unless its a really nom nom nom side.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
I wash the kale with a drop of fragrance free dish soap on my hands. You'd be amazed at the stuff that a tiny bit of soap will remove from kale!!!

I usually just boil it for ten minutes in salty water. If I'm craving a bit more flavor, I'll add a bit of black pepper. If I'm serving it to someone else, I'll add a veg bouillon cube to the pot.

Anyways, just salt the water, boil it, drain it, and eat it with your mouth.

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazelnut View Post

I wash the kale with a drop of fragrance free dish soap on my hands. You'd be amazed at the stuff that a tiny bit of soap will remove from kale!!!

I usually just boil it for ten minutes in salty water. If I'm craving a bit more flavor, I'll add a bit of black pepper. If I'm serving it to someone else, I'll add a veg bouillon cube to the pot.

Anyways, just salt the water, boil it, drain it, and eat it with your mouth.
That sounds kinda of blah to me. Do you eat this as a meal?

Wait, you eat with your mouth?? Weirdo!

·
Banned
1,127 Posts
I usually don't eat kale raw, so I don't know how you'll feel about my two suggestions, but I'll give it a whirl anyways.

First, I like it roughly chopped and cooked in a frying pan with olive oil, shallots (which I can't eat anymore