VeggieBoards banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am almost 25 and really begining to wonder where to go with my life. i am always hitting dead ends and right now still trying to finish my program with animal behavior college for dog training. i really dont want to be a trainer, i took it for knowledge to know and to maybe train here and there. i dont to do vet anything so what else is there? do you need degrees? if so what schools offer them and if no, how do i get involved?

·
Registered
590 Posts
i am in the same boat. i am taking a general course to bring up sciences, to take vet tech hopefully in septemer. but like, where from there? i would like to hear of other VBer's working with animals, and how to get there

·
Registered
898 Posts
There was a little thread about animal careers a bit ago.

here it is:

http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...&highlight=zoo

I used to work in the animal field. I worked at a cat shelter and at the zoo. I put alot of stuff in this thread above so instead of retyping everything. I just put the link.

I can try to answer some questions you might have. whether or not you need a degree depends on what sort of work you want to do. Your animal behavior knowledge will come in handy for any animal job you might be interested in.

There are some books on Careers with Animals that might help you.

I got my job at the zoo even before I was finsihed with my degree (BS in Psych - Animal Behavior). Oh, any sort of experience you have working w/animals is great!

·
Registered
16,090 Posts
What is it you're wanting to do?

I think Search and Rescue would be a very cool career. Hell any type of career where dogs are my coworkers, rather than clients, would be awesome.

I think being an animal cop would be... a very tough job, but something I'd be very into. I don't know if I have the personality type for it though. Even doing undercover dog fighting work for a group like the ASPCA.