There are 3 main Canadian sugar companies- Redpath, Lantic and Rogers. Redpath sugar is vegan. Lantic sugar is also vegan. The Lantic and Rogers lines are owned by the same company. Most Rogers sugar is vegan- their Vancouver refinery uses bone char. If the inked code on the bag starts with 10 then it is made in the Vancouver refinery and it is NOT vegan. Any other number (usually 22) is OK.