VeggieBoards banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Fabulous
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends!
I've been doing great going vegan all by myself and I'm proud! Not many teenagers can do it and I use to always mess up but i've been meal planning so I stay on track :D Anyway I've been eating the quacker dino egg instant oatmeal (cooked with water) for breakfast on lazy days and I'm pretty sure it's vegan but just making sure. Also is the Quaker Protein Triple Berry Flavour Instant Oatmeal vegan? I know these aren't the healthiest things for breakfast but I'm not big on breakfast in the mornings and only have it every few days anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
Hello friends!
I've been doing great going vegan all by myself and I'm proud! Not many teenagers can do it and I use to always mess up but i've been meal planning so I stay on track :D Anyway I've been eating the quacker dino egg instant oatmeal (cooked with water) for breakfast on lazy days and I'm pretty sure it's vegan but just making sure. Also is the Quaker Protein Triple Berry Flavour Instant Oatmeal vegan? I know these aren't the healthiest things for breakfast but I'm not big on breakfast in the mornings and only have it every few days anyway.
I'm almost 100% positive the dinosaur one is not vegan. I think it has milk in it or something. I had looked a while back.
 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,667 Posts
I'm almost 100% positive the dinosaur one is not vegan. I think it has milk in it or something. I had looked a while back.
No need to guess, when the ingredients are posted right on the Quaker Oats website:

WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS, DINOSAUR EGG SHAPED PIECES (SUGAR, DEXTROSE, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, PALM KERNEL OIL, MALTODEXTRIN, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, RED 40 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, SUNFLOWER LECITHIN, YELLOW 5 LAKE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CONFECTIONER'S GLAZE, CARNAUBA WAX, BLUE 1 LAKE, PALM OIL), SUGAR. CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF EACH OF THE FOLLOWING: SALT, CALCIUM CARBONATE, NATURAL FLAVOR, GUAR GUM, MOLASSES, CAROB POWDER, CARAMEL COLOR, NIACINAMIDE*, REDUCED IRON, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, RIBOFLAVIN*, FOLIC ACID*, CHOLECALCIFEROL (VITAMIN D3).

Link: http://www.quakeroats.com/products/...rrp=Main_Site-en_US/reviews/product/2/267.htm

I don't see any milk ingredients, but it does contain these non-vegan ingredients:

Confectioner's glaze (made from ~ 35% shellac, derived from insect shells): http://www.vrg.org/vrgnews/2010dec.php#s5

Cholecalciferol (made from sheep's wool): http://www.agdnutrition.com/d3-story.html
.
 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,667 Posts
Hello friends!
I've been doing great going vegan all by myself and I'm proud! Not many teenagers can do it and I use to always mess up but i've been meal planning so I stay on track :D Anyway I've been eating the quacker dino egg instant oatmeal (cooked with water) for breakfast on lazy days and I'm pretty sure it's vegan but just making sure. Also is the Quaker Protein Triple Berry Flavour Instant Oatmeal vegan? I know these aren't the healthiest things for breakfast but I'm not big on breakfast in the mornings and only have it every few days anyway.
All Quaker Instant Oats ingredients are shown on their website.

Protein Triple Berry Flavor:

Whole grain rolled oats (with oat bran), soy grits, sugar, oat hull fibre, soy protein concentrate, inulin, dehydrated fruit coated with coconut oil (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries), salt, natural and artificial flavours, guar gum, calcium carbonate (thickener), caramel colour (soy), sucralose (8 mg per 38 g serving).

Vitamins and minerals: iron (coated with hydrogenated soybean oil), niacinamide, thiamine mononitrate, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid.

Link: https://www.quakeroats.ca/products/quaker®-protein-triple-berry-flavour-instant-oatmeal
 

·
Fabulous
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
All Quaker Instant Oats ingredients are shown on their website.

Protein Triple Berry Flavor:

Whole grain rolled oats (with oat bran), soy grits, sugar, oat hull fibre, soy protein concentrate, inulin, dehydrated fruit coated with coconut oil (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries), salt, natural and artificial flavours, guar gum, calcium carbonate (thickener), caramel colour (soy), sucralose (8 mg per 38 g serving).

Vitamins and minerals: iron (coated with hydrogenated soybean oil), niacinamide, thiamine mononitrate, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid.

Link: https://www.quakeroats.ca/products/quaker®-protein-triple-berry-flavour-instant-oatmeal
No need to guess, when the ingredients are posted right on the Quaker Oats website:

WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS, DINOSAUR EGG SHAPED PIECES (SUGAR, DEXTROSE, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, PALM KERNEL OIL, MALTODEXTRIN, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, RED 40 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, SUNFLOWER LECITHIN, YELLOW 5 LAKE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CONFECTIONER'S GLAZE, CARNAUBA WAX, BLUE 1 LAKE, PALM OIL), SUGAR. CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF EACH OF THE FOLLOWING: SALT, CALCIUM CARBONATE, NATURAL FLAVOR, GUAR GUM, MOLASSES, CAROB POWDER, CARAMEL COLOR, NIACINAMIDE*, REDUCED IRON, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, RIBOFLAVIN*, FOLIC ACID*, CHOLECALCIFEROL (VITAMIN D3).

Link: http://www.quakeroats.com/products/...rrp=Main_Site-en_US/reviews/product/2/267.htm

I don't see any milk ingredients, but it does contain these non-vegan ingredients:

Confectioner's glaze (made from ~ 35% shellac, derived from insect shells): http://www.vrg.org/vrgnews/2010dec.php#s5

Cholecalciferol (made from sheep's wool): http://www.agdnutrition.com/d3-story.html
.
I don't know the random ingredients that aren't vegan o_O I've never even heard of Cholecalciferol or anything like that so I had no clue I thought vegans just avoided milk eggs meat mono and degylitics. So I guess I wasn't eating vegan with the dino oatmeal :( Is the berry one atlest vegan?
 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,667 Posts
I don't know the random ingredients that aren't vegan o_O I've never even heard of Cholecalciferol or anything like that so I had no clue I thought vegans just avoided milk eggs meat mono and degylitics. So I guess I wasn't eating vegan with the dino oatmeal :( Is the berry one atlest vegan?
I apologize Kaitlyn - I have a bad habit of acting antisocial sometimes. Your questions are good ones.

Yep, the berry oatmeal appears to be vegan.

If you are unsure about other ingredients, you can check them at this website, from the Vegetarian (and vegan) Resource Group: http://www.vrg.org/ingredients/

.
 

·
Fabulous
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I apologize Kaitlyn - I have a bad habit of acting antisocial sometimes. Your questions are good ones.

Yep, the berry oatmeal appears to be vegan.

If you are unsure about other ingredients, you can check them at this website, from the Vegetarian (and vegan) Resource Group: http://www.vrg.org/ingredients/

.
No worries I'm antisocial a lot too lol, thank you! I feel so bad for having the dino egg one not knowing it wasn't vegan! So many secret hidden ingredients in foods I never knew about the poor cute little animal friends :( I feel really bad even tho it wasn't my fault I always feel like it is, but now I know so that's good I can prevent it now! I guess pretty much if you can't pronounce it it's probably not healthy or vegan anyway!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,608 Posts
You know, you could just buy plain instant oats (much cheaper too). They are incredibly fast and easy to cook. All you do is pour some into a bowl. Add a little vegan sugar (whether it is organic cane sugar, maple syrup, molasses, agave, beet sugar such as American Crystal sugar, etc). Heat some water in the microwave for a minute or two, or on the stove. Add this to your oats in the bowl, and let it absorb for about a minute. Viola you have oatmeal, and it takes about 3 minutes tops to make. It is no different than cooking your instant oatmeal mix, except that you just have to add the sugar and/or spices and whatever. I don't even add sugar to mine, just fresh or frozen fruit. But my partner likes sugar in his, so I keep turbinado or organic cane sugar around for him. :) Just a suggestion, no judgment.
 

·
Fabulous
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
You know, you could just buy plain instant oats (much cheaper too). They are incredibly fast and easy to cook. All you do is pour some into a bowl. Add a little vegan sugar (whether it is organic cane sugar, maple syrup, molasses, agave, beet sugar such as American Crystal sugar, etc). Heat some water in the microwave for a minute or two, or on the stove. Add this to your oats in the bowl, and let it absorb for about a minute. Viola you have oatmeal, and it takes about 3 minutes tops to make. It is no different than cooking your instant oatmeal mix, except that you just have to add the sugar and/or spices and whatever. I don't even add sugar to mine, just fresh or frozen fruit. But my partner likes sugar in his, so I keep turbinado or organic cane sugar around for him. :) Just a suggestion, no judgment.
Haha I've tried making oatmeal like that many times but I just never seem to like it and I've tried flavoring it so many different ways I guess my taste buds only like the more unhealthy version XD But thank you maybe when I go to university I'll end up liking it more who knows?
 

·
person
Joined
·
679 Posts
Hi, When you look up the ingredients of a packaged food on the net and you don't know what something listed actually is just open another window and google the word and you will get all sorts of information on what it is, how it's made, what it's good for or bad for etc.

I just did that with "inulin"(in one of David3's posts on this thread) and found out what it is (starchy carbohydrate that we can't digest), where it comes from (various plants) and what it is used for ( soluble fiber).

I also ring the consumer line numbers that are on the packages (they are here I don't know if they are there) to ask for information. I rang two today one for a toothpaste and one for a brand of peanut butter.

Of course that doesn't mean you can't ask here. There is nearly always someone here that knows if an item is vegan or not. :) I just like to check that the things made in Australia and NZ are ok (even if they have the same brand name)
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top