VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
to eat an animal product that you bought on accident? I bought some organic whole wheat crackers (expensive), got halfway through the bag and discovered there was some organic milk powder in it. Hate to throw it away.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
7,285 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmclean View Post

Great, thank you. I really wish this country would stop sneaking dairy into every facet of food.
I do, too. We have a family member with a dairy allergy, so I tend to read ingredient labels carefully.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
1,732 Posts
I'd personally give it away or throw it out - but I think it's pretty morally equal either way. If you throw it out, you'll replace it with vegan food so it isn't going to make a difference to any animals, and personally I can't get around the mental barrier of eating something not vegan - and I'd be concerned that if I did I would develop a taste for it. I'd prefer to give it away - but really I think the net effect of half a box of something isn't a big deal, so just do whatever is most comfortable for you.
 

· Banned
Joined
·
855 Posts
Agreed, if it's a case of if you don't eat it it's just going into the trash, there's nothing wrong with it, then just make a point to read labels closer the next time. I've done this several times now. And the more people beat themselves up about it, the less likely they are to stay vegan.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,860 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Identity_thief View Post

I'd personally give it away or throw it out - but I think it's pretty morally equal either way. If you throw it out, you'll replace it with vegan food so it isn't going to make a difference to any animals, and personally I can't get around the mental barrier of eating something not vegan - and I'd be concerned that if I did I would develop a taste for it. I'd prefer to give it away - but really I think the net effect of half a box of something isn't a big deal, so just do whatever is most comfortable for you.
It depends, to me, HOW not-vegan it is. If I just accidentally bought the non-vegan version of something (like crackers), then I'm not worried about developing a taste for it because vegan crackers are commonplace. If it was something that there wasn't a vegan version of at all, and I'd just overlooked the animal ingredient, then I wouldn't eat it.
 

· Vegan Very Metal
Joined
·
1,447 Posts
I certainly don't think you should eat the rest of the product once you've found out it's not vegan, unless for some reason you are starving to death. Be cheeky, and email the company who manufacture the product, and inform them of your mistake, and ask them why the product isn't vegan, you never know, you might get some sort of refund, but then again, you probably wouldn't.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
592 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmclean View Post

to eat an animal product that you bought on accident? I bought some organic whole wheat crackers (expensive), got halfway through the bag and discovered there was some organic milk powder in it. Hate to throw it away.
I don't. Once I know it's got animal bits in it I don't want to eat it anymore.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
A mistake is a mistake like everyone says, It just teaches you to read the labels better. I'd say to either finish it or give it away. Since the animal product was already used it would be worst to just throw it away, wasting food is never good.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
342 Posts
If I am eating something and discover mid way through that it contains animal parts or secretions I stop eating it. Once I discover that it contains these ingredients it is no longer apppetizing to me.
 

· Banned
Joined
·
1,157 Posts
I feel as though what I would personally do isn't important.
Either way the damage is done. So whatever you feel is right just do :]
you dont need our opinions, just be careful next time and don't beat yourself up over it!
 

· Registered
Joined
·
202 Posts
Just learn from your mistake and avoid repeating. Even after you read the ingredients and bought the food, please read the ingredients before opening a box (or bag) full or crackers to be extra sure it's vegetarian. If the cracker has milk and egg ingredients then DO NOT open it and give it back to the store, which is why you should keep your receipt.

I bought a brand of veggie cheese called "Veggie Shreds" and I read the back and assumed it was all vegetarian. When I was about to open it, I saw that it had soy and milk as there was a command between the two words. I didn't open it and I still had the receipt and so I was able to get my refund.
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top