VeggieBoards banner

Is it unhealthy to do the overnight switch?

4192 Views 50 Replies 26 Participants Last post by  MichelleC
I'm new to vegetarianism, very new. I just started about a week ago. Everyone keeps telling me that I need to become vegetarian gradually or my body won't adjust and I will go into shock. I'm in college, and from what I've learned this just does not seem true. I eat fish or poultry once a week now, simply because I'm not 100% positive.

Oh, by the way, this is an awesome forum and I'm so glad something like this exists!
1 - 20 of 51 Posts
Congrats on going veggie

It is perfectly healthy to do the overnight switch. I say go for it.
See less See more
It really varies from person to person; whatever works best for you. I switched from omni to vegetarian over night. Switching from vegetarian to vegan was harder (for me).

I know some people in college have a harder time of it because of what little is offered at school, etc. Since you're not eating that much meat now (fish and poultry) it'll be easier for you to switch, I think.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenna View Post

I know some people in college have a harder time of it because of what little is offered at school, etc. Since you're not eating that much meat now (fish and poultry) it'll be easier for you to switch, I think.
The switch would be incredibly easy. I love trying new foods, and I was never a fan of meat in the first place.

My college actually inspired me! I go to a small liberal arts university and a lot of people are veg*n here. They actually serve veg*n options at school events. For instance, they held a superbowl party and served veggie friendly subs. The real problem is financing meat substitutes. they can be pricey around here because demand is high.