VeggieBoards banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I had emailed the Wrigley's company a couple of weeks ago to ask them, and was told that all of the Extra gums were vegan, except the ones with the ice crystals, like the Extra Polar Ice, and with the hard coating. Here's what they wrote:

Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.

To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold

in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg

and dairy products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are

Extra® Polar Ice stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.

Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads

encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We

have requested the development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is

currently being worked on by our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and

Strappleberry gums use shellac as a coating agent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,684 Posts
Shellac? I used that during arts & crafts at summer camp growing up. Some days I think I prefer to remain ignorant about what's in processed food...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,854 Posts
I know that Wrigleys regular Spearmint sticks, Cinnamon sticks, etc are vegetarian. Unless they've been adding gelatin lately. These have sugar, they're not sugar-free, if that's what you like.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top