VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know? I can't find an exact answer. I found it was dairy-free and vegetarian but I can't figure out if there's still an un-vegan ingredient
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,609 Posts
An ingredient list I found contains whey, which is a dairy ingredient. It appears that they have several varieties though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
344 Posts
If it has vitamin D in it and does not specify that it's D2, assume it's D3 and therefore, not vegan. That's what I'd do anyway.

Do you have a particular variety of Country Crock on hand? If so, which one? If you're looking for a vegan margarine, I know that Earth Balance and Blue Bonnet Light are vegan. Both can be found at Wal-Mart. I recommend the former over the latter.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,961 Posts
According to their website, country crock has dairy, but they produce Willow Run margarine which is vegan. Willow Run, and Blue Bonnet Light both contain transfat I believe.
Stick with Earth balance or Smart Balance (the Flax oil light and Organic versions of SB are vegan-be careful!)

Last time I bought EB I found a new coconut oil spread- I don't remember anything about other than it being vegan.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,921 Posts
Becel now makes a vegan margarine. They actually call it Becel Vegan. Not sure what stores carry it in the US though.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks, everyone! I re-read the ingredients and saw the whey, I think the other links I found about it being non-vegan were talking about another variety from the same company.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs. T View Post

If you're looking for a vegan margarine, I know that Earth Balance and Blue Bonnet Light are vegan. Both can be found at Wal-Mart. I recommend the former over the latter.
Thanks! I don't have any sort of health or organic food stores near me, like Whole Foods or Trader Joe's, so we usually shop at WalMart. I'm going to look for these next time I go.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by disney.jessica View Post

Thanks, everyone! I re-read the ingredients and saw the whey, I think the other links I found about it being non-vegan were talking about another variety from the same company.

Thanks! I don't have any sort of health or organic food stores near me, like Whole Foods or Trader Joe's, so we usually shop at WalMart. I'm going to look for these next time I go.
I live in a really small town and my local walmart has earth balance and the smart balance light with flax. So hopefully yours will have it as well!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
344 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by disney.jessica View Post

Thanks, everyone! I re-read the ingredients and saw the whey, I think the other links I found about it being non-vegan were talking about another variety from the same company.

Thanks! I don't have any sort of health or organic food stores near me, like Whole Foods or Trader Joe's, so we usually shop at WalMart. I'm going to look for these next time I go.
Wal-Mart might have the Bestlife stick margarine as well. I know they have the tub margarine, but it's not vegan. They told me in an e-mail awhile back that their stick margarine is vegan.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs. T View Post

If it has vitamin D in it and does not specify that it's D2, assume it's D3 and therefore, not vegan. That's what I'd do anyway.

Do you have a particular variety of Country Crock on hand? If so, which one? If you're looking for a vegan margarine, I know that Earth Balance and Blue Bonnet Light are vegan. Both can be found at Wal-Mart. I recommend the former over the latter.
Question here sorry to sneak in on the op. Is all D3 non-vegan? I am suppose to take D3 everyday- I haven't been lately since it's summer and I am outside more, (not sure the doctor likes that but anyways)I know I have a hard time finding it with out gelatin in it but I didn't know if it was in something else it wasn't vegan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
344 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starlight Butterfly View Post

Question here sorry to sneak in on the op. Is all D3 non-vegan? I am suppose to take D3 everyday- I haven't been lately since it's summer and I am outside more, (not sure the doctor likes that but anyways)I know I have a hard time finding it with out gelatin in it but I didn't know if it was in something else it wasn't vegan
Yes, all D3 supplements are non-vegan. It comes from sheep's wool.

Quote:
What's The Difference Between Vitamin D2 and Vitamin D3?

Two different forms of vitamin D are used in supplements and fortified foods. Vitamin D2, also called ergocalciferol, is manufactured through the ultraviolet irradiation of a substance called ergosterol that comes from yeast. Vitamin D2 is vegan.

Vitamin D3, also called cholecalciferol, is made by the ultraviolet irradiation of a substance derived from sheep's wool. Some research suggests that vitamin D2 and vitamin D3 are absorbed equally well,9 although other studies suggest that vitamin D3 is better absorbed.10 If you are treated for a vitamin D deficiency, you may find that your health care provider recommends taking a higher dose of vitamin D2 than of vitamin D3 to compensate for possible differences in absorption.2 This is an area of active research that we will continue to follow.
http://www.vrg.org/blog/2010/09/21/f...out-vitamin-d/
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top