VeggieBoards banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
892 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new at being a vegetarian and am struggling to stick to my guns. My reason is due to my love of animals, but sometimes it's hard to remind myself of the reasons. I think that coming onto this board will really help me because I don't know any vegetarians at all so I don't really have any support. I live on my own, but eat breakfast at my parents in the morning, because my mom watches my dog while I'm at work so she's not home alone all day. Also, I eat at their house on Sunday evenings. My mom is in real denial about my decision and is in real fear for my health so she's been making more meaty meals than before and adding hidden meat products, as if trying to inspire me to like meat again. I think the reason she can get away with it is because sometimes I give in. I really want to be a veggie-saurus and my long term goal is to be a vegan. Am I sounding like I really want to do it? Trust me, I do, it's just a little hard without other veggies around who understand

·
Registered
4,778 Posts
Hi sunshinemelissa! (what a nice username!!)

Short, we're here to HELP!!!!!
Kiss your lonely veggie existence good-bye!

There are other good reasons to go veg besides animals: it's healthier and it's mucho mucho better for the environment. And isn't meat just plain gross??

There is a lot of literature out there that you could show to your mom. One of my favorite sources is PCRM (they're all M.D.'s):

http://www.pcrm.org/health/veginfo/index.html

All of these articles would I think make for an interesting read for her!

You are in a tough situation, but I think having difficulty because of lack of support is "better" than having difficulty because you crave meat. So I think you have the 'better' kind of the two difficulties many new vegetarians face. If what I say makes any sense.