VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yuck!

:'(

This is the first time I have used nutritional yeast, and I made a "macaroni and cheese". I got the recipe from a good vegan book, and I just did not like it at all!

I am still new to all of this, but I am disapointed that I really do not like it at all. I will attempt a different "cheese" recipe, hopefully it will be better.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Clarity, I really dislike nutritional yeast. My first few brushes with vegan cheeze-making were complete disasters because I just couldn't accustom my taste-buds to yeasty-flavored cheezes.

You might want to try the cheeze recipe I've posted below. It's really good, and doesn't have the strong nutritional yeast flavor associated with vegan cheezes.

By the way, nutritional yeast makes excellent vegetarian 'chicken' broth. Bryanna Clark Grogan posted a recipe on Vegsource some time back, and it was delicious. I'll dig up the recipe if you're interested!

·
Registered
2,792 Posts
I'm with Kreeli. I had to get used to the flavor of nutritional yeast, and now I LOVE IT! Once I went vegan, I also had to get over the emotional attachment I had with dairy products. Eventually I managed to stop trying to find exact vegan replicas to my old favorites, and instead enjoy new kinds of foods.

Oh, and nutritional yeast is great sprinkled on popcorn!

·
Banned
261 Posts
Brewers' yeast and nutritional yeast are usually not the same thing.

In some plces, nutritional yeast is called "brewers' yeast", for unknown reasons.

Usually, brewers' yeas is a medium-brown color, and tastes bitter, not at all for use like nutritional yeast.

Nutritional yeast is yellow-ish, and goes well in/sprinkled on a lot of things. It has a nutty, somewhat cheesy taste.