VeggieBoards banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I talk to myself in my head...

In fact, I do it quite often. Sometimes I replay conversations that I've already had, thinking of ways I could have responded better, and sometimes I rehearse future conversations that I would like to have, or anticipate having, trying to find the best words to use. Assuming I might even get the chance to say them. Sometimes I even rehearse future forum postings in my head while I'm at the grocery store or sitting in class.

I've done this ever since I was a kid and maybe it's because I was a loner and didn't have many friends to talk to when I was young, but seriously... I now fully understand why people talk to themselves on park benches. Several times at the bus stop now I have caught myself having these conversations 'out loud' and even with hand gestures. Sometimes I think that maybe it's because I'm a writer at heart and always thinking of dialogue in my head.

But other times... it scares me and I think maybe I am just crazy.

Anyone else do this?

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey thanks for the responses. Do you think it's a sign of mental illness, or a positive attribute?

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Well I think that maybe there's a difference between 'thinking' and having conversations in your head.

That's what I am worried about.

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuicideBlonde View Post

I talk to myself in my head, out loud, (hell, I am the only one who listens to what I say) second guess myself and have arguments with myself. I think this stems from being pretty much a loner most of my life and not having anyone to talk to. I murder to myself with people around and they are like what I have to respond nothing just talking to myself.
Dexter, is that you?

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #24 ·
Quote: