so i found a pair of shoes that i know are not made from leather, but i dont know if this means they are animal free. the phrase on the box used is<br><br><br><br>
made from man made materials<br><br><br><br>
As far as I know its hard to tell unless the company comes right out saying its vegan or the sole is made of hemp or something...<br><br><br><br>
In general I don't think the rubber used in soles is 100% vegan, but I may be wrong on that. Anyone know?
I'm pretty sure that "man-made materials" means "synthetic". That means the shoes are probably vegan.<br><br><br><br>
As far as rubber goes I thought that was also vegan.<br><br><br><br>
Anyway, I wouldn't worry about it too much. I don't consider most shoes vegan anyway because of the human exploitation involved in the making of most shoes. I once tried a pair from <a href="http://www.rawganique.com/footwear.htm" target="_blank">http://www.rawganique.com/footwear.htm</a> but they didn't quite fit right so I had to pay the shipping costs for nothing. It's so hard to buy shoes online. But I tried and that's all I can do. Now I have a pair of man-made materials shoes and I don't really consider them vegan but better than leather for sure.
You can never be sure about the glue used on the shoes (if the shoes have glue). If the glue is an issue for you that is. (glue still contains animal products right?)<br><br><br><br>
I try to buy from vegan shoe places that call there shoes vegan.<br><br><br><br>
here is a link to our archived veggie shoes guide:<br><br><a href="http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/showthread.php?t=29631&highlight=shoe+guide" target="_blank">http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...ght=shoe+guide</a>
<span><i>Technically</i>.. man made either is synthetic or well.. human material. But seeing as it's not really considered 'ethical' to kill other humans for making shoes, it shouldn't be a problem.<br><br><br><br>
It should in theory not contain animal products unless the glue is not vegan or if the manufacturer considers leather to be man made. Rubber I do believe is vegan.<br><br></span>
If you want it to be 100% vegan - The glue that holds the sole onto the shoe is questionable.<br><br><br><br>
It could contain casein. However, I have found that "Commercial Slime" which is apparantley used in at least some shoe manufacturing is 100% vegan glue. It is Guar Gum and Borax.<br><br><br><br>
I suppose you have to write to the manufacturer and find out what type of glue they use.<br><br><br><br>
If it is a synthetic polymer - there are no animal ingredients, but the environment would suffer<br><br><br><br>
Everyone used to use animal bones, hide, and hoof, but I'm pretty sure you won't find this in the US anymore.<br><br>
Milk (casein) seems to be the last enemy in the shoe manufacturing arena.<br><br><br><br>
If it is a
A forum community dedicated to vegetarian, vegans, and vegetable enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about agriculture, preparation, cooking, recipes, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!