I think that stating that (all) vegans cannot/do not consume honey oversimplifies the matter.
A Vegan is a person that strives to remove all animal products from their lives. A vegan product is one that is free of all animal ingredients. ...
Animal products include all forms of meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy products, fur, leather, wool, silk, and byproducts such as gelatin, rennet, whey, and the like. The Vegan Society and most [Emphasis added] vegans include insect products such as honey in their definition[Emphasis added] as well. There is some debate on the finer points of what constitutes an animal product; some vegans avoid cane sugar that has been filtered with bone char and some won't drink beers and wines clarified with egg whites or isinglass (even though they are not present in the final product). Further, some vegans won't eat food cooked in pans if they have ever been used to cook meat, while other vegans are content to simply remove meat, fish, eggs, and milk from their diets.
Today, however, there are some distinctions between different vegans based primarily on their motivation for following a vegan lifestyle.
"Dietary vegans" avoid animal products in their food although some are less than strict about "minor" ingredients such as honey.[Emphasis added]