VeggieBoards banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a beginner cook and make a vegetarian minestrome soup in a crockpot-beans, diced tomatoes, kale, carrots, onions, spices and I put water on the top I have been using canned kidney beans which I don't love, but want to continue to use them- just read you can puree them. How do I do this? If I put the beans in a blender is the liquid in the can enough or will I need water?

·
Vegan since 1991
3,660 Posts
If I put the beans in a blender is the liquid in the can enough or will I need water?
The flavor might improve if you get rid of the liquid in the can, and rinse the beans thoroughly. The liquid tends to be salty and yucky, I think.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I've always had a bit of an issue with the texture of kidney beans, but never the taste. I don't think they have a very distinctive taste at all.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I agree-it's the texture. I didn't know if pureeing it would solve that. If not, is there another type of bean I can use? Beans are very healthy!

·
Vegan since 1991
3,660 Posts
I agree-it's the texture. I didn't know if pureeing it would solve that. If not, is there another type of bean I can use? Beans are very healthy!
Any kind of bean is good. Most beans have similar nutrition profiles - rich in protein, fiber, iron, and folate.

Pinto beans are creamier, I think. Lima beans are more mealy.

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
Chickpeas sound like they'd go well with the rest of the ingredients.

·
Super Moderator
8,959 Posts
You can can any bean you'd like, and yes, do rinse!
I use my immersion blender for blending beans, or taking right to the whole pot and giving it a light whir or even to puree. I use that for lots of things because it goes inside a bowl and cleans easily

Pinto beans are really creamy with a thin skin. So are canneli beans.

Are you cooking for just yourself?