VeggieBoards banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I'm new to all this.

Can someone break down exactly what all of these items are? Are they all soy based? I'm so confused! eek!

TVP

TSP

Nutritional yeast

Seitan (I think I spelled that correctly)

**if someone could also tell me the common uses for said items...

·
Registered
4,778 Posts
TVP = textured vegetable protein, it is the same as TSP (text. soy prot.) It is made from defatted soy flour (a byproduct of soybean oil production). It can be substituted for ground beef or any other meat (if you can find it in bigger pieces/chunks). You have to rehydrate it first (just add hot water). It is 50% protein by calories, it has a lot of fiber, vitamins and other stuff. It tastes almost like nothing and soaks up the other flavors of the recipe.

Nutritional yeast: dead yeast that was cultured on molasses. It comes in the form of flakes. It has a cheese-like flavor. You can use it in recipes or just sprinkle it on whatever you eat. It has a lot of other vitamins and also some protein. Red Star brand Nutr. Yeast is enriched with vitamin B12 and is a good source of B12 for vegans.

Seitan: made from wheat flour, by making a dough first and then washing away all the bran and starch. What is left over is the pure wheat protein (gluten). It is then simmered in a broth (usually soy sauce and such) to flavor it. It can be used instead of meat in all recipes. You can use it straight out of the package. You can also quite easily make your own seitan.

But it's best to just buy these items and see what they are and how you like them. You can't do anything wrong with them

·
Banned
10,763 Posts