VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hii!

Im new to this vegetarian thing.
I had a good friend who has been for years, but we have parted ways&I just have a couple questions I hope you could help with!
Before totally doing away with all meat I would eat chicken seafood and pepperoni.
Now after 2 weeks being meat free [I still eat dairy and eggs] I am getting horrible headaches!
I take a multi vitamin daily&eat a balanced diet.
My dad says its my body saying I need meat, however I know that is can be better for you to not eat meat.
Also is there any other vitamins/supplements i should be taking?

thanks bunches

·
Registered
16,090 Posts
Did you cut out anything else like caffeine? I haven't really heard of vegetarian food causing headaches, but I'm sure there's a valid reason. A drastic change in diet can cause your body to do weird things. Are you eating enough food? You may have cut down on the number of calories you're consuming without realizing it.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
Did you start eating new foods that you may be sensitive to, or allergic to? Perhaps you've increased your intake of soy and/or wheat gluten? Those are two things that some people can be sensitive to...it's quite common.

Is the change stressing you out at all? Are you arguing with people around you about YOUR food choices? That could be a cause as well.

Hydration? Have you changed the amount of liquids you take in?

The previous poster suggested caffeine... That's possible, to.

My own experience, 3.5 years ago, was that I felt like crud for the first week or two. Any sudden change in diet is going to freak your body out a bit, regardless of whether it is a change for the better or not. I also felt stressed because mentally I felt that I was missing major parts of my meal. It took a week or two for my body, and my mind, to catch up to what I was doing.

·
Registered
2,293 Posts