VeggieBoards banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am a newbie vegetarian and have been avoiding certain social situations because I am not sure how to handle them. I have one coming up that I cannot avoid. This group of friends likes to go to sport bars and order a whole bunch of appetizers to share. How should I go about telling them that I would like to order just a salad without offending the person organizing it?

·
Registered
130 Posts
just be up front about it - the longer you draw things out the more awkward they will get.

·
Ex-*****
5,391 Posts
I guess you'll just have to explain that you've decided to become vegetarian and therefore can't eat stuff with meat, fish etc, but that you're happy to eat anything vegetarian. If you know the place you're going to, maybe you can find out in advance what is vegetarian or not. You could also offer to order your own food, if that is more convenient.

Btw, welcome to VB!

·
Registered
7,577 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by masako View Post

How should I go about telling them that I would like to order just a salad without offending the person organizing it?
I would just tell them "I'm a vegetarian", but if you don't feel like you can tell them that you are a vegetarian, just tell them that you don't eat meat, if they ask why, just say that you don't like the taste. Most people won't argue about taste preferences.

·
Registered
682 Posts
Just be upfront about it and make sure at least one of the appetizers they order is veg. If they are friends you've known for awhile expect them to have questions, and answer honestly but without being judgmental.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by masako View Post