VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
889 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, since becoming a vegan, I have never been tempted to stop being vegan so this is not a thread about temptation or fear of relapse.

However, while not tempted, Halloween has reminded me how much I love the holiday and the candy goodness associated with it. All of my old favorites have evil milk products and I can't eat them, not even my all-time favorite Reese's cup. Even most dark chocolates in America have milk products them!


What are some commonly available candies that do not have milk products in them? Are there any popular, name-brand candies that one wouldn't think is vegan but is?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoBravo View Post

All of my old favorites have evil milk products and I can't eat them, not even my all-time favorite Reese's cup. Even most dark chocolates in America have milk products them!
Forget Reese's cups! I made these last night. There's a total of 3 ingredients and it takes minutes to make. Soooo much better than Reese's and you control the ingredients!!

(Quoting myself from the Food Porn thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenish View Post

I made myself a little treat tonight to help me avoid temptation from all the Halloween candy floating around! Homemade vegan peanut butter cups. And there's some left for tomorrow! The recipe (scroll down) is for 2 peanut butter cups, but I made 4 smaller ones.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
889 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenish View Post

Forget Reese's cups! I made these last night. There's a total of 3 ingredients and it takes minutes to make. Soooo much better than Reese's and you control the ingredients!!

(Quoting myself from the Food Porn thread)
omg. I'm going to be in heaven!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
121 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenish View Post

Forget Reese's cups! I made these last night. There's a total of 3 ingredients and it takes minutes to make. Soooo much better than Reese's and you control the ingredients!!

(Quoting myself from the Food Porn thread)
Whoa...I am SO making these.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoBravo View Post

So, since becoming a vegan, I have never been tempted to stop being vegan so this is not a thread about temptation or fear of relapse.

However, while not tempted, Halloween has reminded me how much I love the holiday and the candy goodness associated with it. All of my old favorites have evil milk products and I can't eat them, not even my all-time favorite Reese's cup. Even most dark chocolates in America have milk products them!


What are some commonly available candies that do not have milk products in them? Are there any popular, name-brand candies that one wouldn't think is vegan but is?
You aren't going to find really popular mainstream vegan chocolate. It does exist of course, but the more popular chocolate candies always seem to have milk in them.

I haven't tried them, and I don't know how widely available they are in your area, but I've heard good things about original (red package) Peanut Chews. One reviewer compared them to a Snickers bar, but I don't know how true that is. I'm eager to try them myself.

I feel the need to mention Chick-o-sticks (even though they don't have any chocolate on them) because they're very much like the inside of a Butterfinger. Then there are Atkinson's Peanut Butter Bars (made by the same company) which are similar to Chick-o-sticks except without the coconut flavor. They're both really good. I only ever see them in dollar stores though.

And as Greenish pointed out, making your own Reese's cups is pretty simple.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoBravo View Post

I have found that most commercially available dark chocolates have milk solids or whey in them.
Are you near a Trader Joe's? Their 73% dark doesn't. Others they sell don't either.

If you don't have a TJ's near you, you might have some luck in chain export shops like Cost Plus.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,121 Posts
I didn't think it would be a problem, but the halloween candy sitting in a bag on my counter is making me crazy. And every time my husband unwraps and eats a Reeses or a Kit Kat, I kind of start drooling. I am giving it all away- but have to wait until Monday. He keeps picking at it because he isn't vegan yet.
Its not that I want to eat that stuff- but it makes me want something sweet or chocolaty. And immediately.

I found my solution for this is to make things ahead of time and keep it all in my freezer. So when I am drooling and can't make it go away, I can just go and get something. I like the recipe for peanut butter cups above- I will have to make a big batch and freeze it! Right now I have vegan chocolate chip cookie dough balls in my freezer. My intention was to bake one or two when I wanted them, but I keep just eating the cookie dough instead! (the one perk to not having eggs in cookie dough!)
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top