VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So all of the ingredients in gum are unknown to me. I wanted to know what gums are or aren't vegan...if that is even an issue I don't know. I know that I could ultimately look up all of those things, but I thought that I would ask first.

684 Posts
I've heard the Wrigley's is, but I'm not sure. I don't really chew a lot of gum anyway... But it would be nice to know which gums are vegan & which aren't just in case of a craving.
I would also like to know.
11,550 Posts
i found this:

Is 'gum base' in chewing gum vegan?

from the Vegetarian Resource Group

Most chewing gums innocuously list "gum base" as one of their ingredients, masking the fact that petroleum, lanolin, glycerin, polyethylene, polyvinyl acetate, petroleum wax, stearic acid, and latex (a possible allergen) may be among the components.

Because of standards of identity for items such as gum base and flavoring, manufacturers are not required to list everything in their product.

According to Dertoline, a French chemical manufacturer, their adhesive "dercolytes" are used as a label and tape adhesive, as well as a chewing gum base.

Many brands also list glycerin and glycerol as ingredients on the label.

Both of them can be animal derived.
so basically gum could be full of all kinds of nasty crud. just what ya wanna be chewing on... petrolchemicals as well as artificial sweeteners... mmmmm, lol.

and i found this at the vegetarian society website:

Chewing gum: Often contain glycerine. Wrigleys use a vegetable glycerine
which seems positive.

and i found a copy of an email response from wrigleys on another (not as good as veggieboards by miles in my opinion) message board:

According to an e-mail reply from Wrigleys on Jan 5, 2005:

Dear Miss Hagens,

Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.

In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the

U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy


At present, the only exceptions are Wrigley's Spearmint® and Extra® Polar IceTM

stick gums, Juicy Fruit® pellet gums and products produced by Amurol

Confections, Wrigley's wholly-owned subsidiary, prior to June 1, 2003. The

products formerly sold by Amurol, are now a part of the Wrigley family of


Some batches of Wrigley's Spearmint® gum contain a very small amount of gelatin.

Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavor beads encased in a microscopic layer

of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the development of a

gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by our supplier.

Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a coating agent.

Hubba Bubba®, Bubble Tape®, Big League Chew®, Everest® and Dragon Fire® gum and

Reed's® and Velamints® mints, formerly produced by Amurol Confections, became a

part of the Wrigley product portfolio effective January 1, 2004. As of June 1,

2003 these products have been free of any animal based ingredients. While most

products manufactured before this June date are no longer on shelves, some

packages can still remain. The dating code for these products follow the format

YMDDMY and reflects the manufacture date. If your diet restricts any animal

based ingredients, please be sure to read the manufacture date, located on the

back of the packaging, to ensure you are purchasing a package produced after

June 1, 2003.

Thank you for your interest. We hope this information will be helpful.



Nancy Slivoski

Consumer Affairs Coordinator
there is a whole discussion on it here.

i wonder if its been discussed n veggieboards before. perhaps a search of the database would offer up more info on different brands, etc?

thats a start, anyway. i don't eat gum myself, cos its full of yucky sweeteners and the like, but its nice to know its not always full of cow bits too.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.