VeggieBoards banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

I am a 17 year old vegan from Canada, and I am delighted to have found this board! I have been a vegetarian for most of my life (though I did eat meat on occasion when I was very young) and I have been a vegan for two or three years. I'm also an environmentalist and animal rights activist, though I haven't been anywhere near active enough lately. I'll be changing that soon though. My long-term dream is to someday build an off-the-grid house so that I can live as gently on the earth as possible, but that's a long time from now. In the meantime, I seem to have been unwittingly chosen as the patron saint of bugs and others small critters, whom I gently rescue from any dangerous situations. It's a full-time job . . .

I also enjoy reading, writing, being lazy, and listening to and playing music (I'm a classical pianist). I like poetry (though I'm not a poet) and books are great. I have sooo many favorites, though my all time favorite book (well, at least for this month
) would probably be Alan Paton's Cry the Beloved Country. I'm also probably the only teenager in existance who actually likes Shakespeare.
I don't like very many movies, but Dead Poets Society, Gandhi, and Philadelphia are among my favorites. Gandhi was a cool guy.

Anyway, I can't think of anything else interesting to say (though I'm sure to the moment I click the "submit new thread" button
). I just want to say that I'm really excited to have found this community!
And a big thanks and hugs to everyone who gave me such a warm welcome when I stumbled into the chat room this weekend!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thanks for the welcome everyone!
I'm having such a great time reading all the cool threads here! (I'll start posting soon when I'm a bit more familiar with the board
)

Thanks again!

Mat

·
Registered
3,704 Posts