VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,<br><br>
Let me introduce myself. My name is Liz and I live in Oklahoma. I am fairly new to the vegetarian way of life but I can say it has been fun and I feel alot better. The best part was when my roomate made some fresh whole wheat and soy bread and we used some soy butter and OH MY GOSH was that out of this world.<br><br>
But on to my biggest question I have is this;<br><br>
I have always heard that a person absolutley needs some type of meat in their diet, I think this is false due to so many other countries having large vegetarian diets. Is there something like amino acids or a multi vitamen we should be taking ?<br><br>
I am an active person and we are going to be starting back to the gym next week. I want to keep the muscle I have and I know I will need to take in sufficient protien to maintain my muscle. Any help would be appreciated because I really would rather stay away from meat.<br><br><br><br>
Thanks<br><br>
Liz

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Congrats on going veggie. You are on a wonderful path.<br><br><br><br>
I have been vegetarian since birth. Humans do not need to eat meat, ever.<br><br>
I was a runner and cheerleader in high school. I am fairly strong (for a woman). I have never broken a bone in my life, despite my active / adventurous life.<br><br><br><br>
If you are eating a proper diet veggies, fruit, whole grains, nuts, legumes, etc... you are getting the right nutrition and amino acids. I would recommend taking a B-complex vitamin and possibly a Calcium supplement. <a href="http://www.freedavitamins.com/" target="_blank">Freeda</a> makes all vegetarian vitamins.<br><br><br><br><a href="http://www.vegetarian-diet.info/vegetarian-food-pyramid.htm" target="_blank">Vegetarian Food Pyramid</a><br><br><br><br><a href="http://www.veganfoodpyramid.com/" target="_blank">Vegan Food Pyramid</a>

·
Registered
1,227 Posts