i realize that a lot of indian cuisine is vegetarian, but how do you cope with ghee if you were to travel there? has anyone been with success?
Have you thought about getting a vegan passport? (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vegan-Passpo...01&sr=8-1)When eating out it should be able to ensure you'll at least get a vegan meal. As far as i'm aware gluten isnt used all that widely in indian cooking (only in obvious gluten containing items such as breads etc.). Rice i'd guess would be harder to avoid but pretty obvious in most dishes. Travelling with a restricted diet can be hard but it's never impossible. You'll survive, just be prepared that sometimes you might end up surviving on things that arent really a meal and theres always fruit and veggies. It seems to me that most countries are pretty westernised these days anyway so there'll always be something to eat.Originally Posted by laurie15
i do not consume dairy, but more importantly, i am severely allergic (even though i wouldn't have it anyway, but just stressing the importance that i could not even slip up).
therefore, i was wondering, as i knowthat a lot of traditional cuisine does use ghee, would it be difficult to 'survive' there (and also not be able to consume rice or gluten).