VeggieBoards banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,132 Posts
Unfortunately this list is not quite correct. It's vastly better to just check labels than to write off all "sour cream" as containing gelatine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FloydTheDuck View Post

Hello,

I thought it would be helpful to a lot of people if I made a list of foods that contain gelatin.

marsh mellows

pop-tarts

mini wheats and other frosted cereals --- Case by case. Most do, but not all ---

Jello

star-bursts Not always. Depends where you buy it, some countries it is gelatine free

skittles

jr mints

peeps

gummy worms/bears

yogurts ---- many yogurts do not have gelatine ---

Green Giant frozen vegetables (in a bag) - not even kidding! link

it under the section that says - Vegetables- Frozen (bag)

icing/frosting --- Not the way I make it. Most doesn't, but you may have to look. ---

cream cheese usually doesn't, but maybe check the label.

sour cream --- proper sour cream should not have gelatine, some cheaper, crappy brands may have it ---

trifles

aspic

Hostess cupcakes

as I discover more, I'll post them, and if anyone else has anything to add, just post it, and I'll add it to the list.

The best way to be certain though is to just read the ingredients.

Just about anything with frosting or icing. --- incorrect. When I make icing it is just icing sugar, margarine and flavourings. A lot of icing is just that, too. ---

And remember, just because you accidently eat some gelatin, it doesn't mean you're no longer a vegetarian.

BTW, a mod should probably make this a sticky
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,132 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloydTheDuck View Post

im just listing things that i have seen gelatin in, or have read that have gelatin in them. Of course not ALL brands put gelatin in things like yogurt, but most do.

This list just tells you things that gelatin could POSSIBLY be, so that you're careful before eating it.
Possibly edit your post? The OP says "foods that contain gelatine" not "please check the labels". For a list to be useful you will have to state, such as I did for the Starburst thing, if a particular food "always" or "sometimes" contains gelatine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,132 Posts
"Jelly" is the correct term for, well jelly (jello stuff) and not jam (jam) in many, many places. Do no apologise for using what is the correct word for most people. Calling jam "jelly" is very regional.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,132 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradox View Post

I was apologising more for not recognising that I could be misunderstood, I know it's jelly really
(by which I don't mean jam)
Ah, ok. I love little differences in language. Jam/jelly, biscuits/cookies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danascully64 View Post

We do have an item that was recently put on shelves, has chunks of fruit in it, that's vegan, but it doesn't come in a box where you add water, it's pre-made.
A co-worker was telling me there is now a pre-made jelly-o that has recently come on the market that is (supposedly) vegan. I have yet to see it, I do think it is Aeroplane Jelly, an Australian brand, though.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top