VeggieBoards banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It is hard to find frozen pizzas with rennet-free cheese. Anyone know whether the cheese in Tombstone cheese pizza is vegetarian (no animal rennet)?<br><br><br><br>
Any other frozen pizza brands with rennet-free cheese? Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,369 Posts
hmm i have seen frozen pizzas with soy cheese. today actually. definitely no rennet but casien. there are also cheeseless frozen pizzas! amys organics makes both and i have seen regular cheese frozen pizzas of that brand too and while i havent read the ingredients on those ones since i wasnt buying, id be surprised if they have rennet in them since it seems to be a vegetarian company. im sure there are many others too just not the mainstream companies. i dont know where you shop but any hfs should have them but i was even in a real grocery store today and couldnt believe they had cheeseless pizza. course for the price they asked i wouldve went to papa johns before buying it. anyway my point is, while i was drooling over expensive pizza i wanted, i saw the regular cheese ones and soy ones too. anyway i know if you live near a hfs you will find plenty w/out rennet. good luck.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mr. H.

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't know where is HFS. I shop at FoodMaxx and Food Source. They have only mainstream pizza like Tombstone, Freschetta, Tony's, Red Baron, et al.<br><br><br><br>
I used to get Amy's pizzas (yes the cheese is veg) from Whole Foods and Al-Safa halal pizzas from Albertsons but one was too expensive (and Whole Foods was like 30 miles away) and the other tasted like ****.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,874 Posts
HFS=health food store.<br><br><br><br>
You might need to write or call Tombstone, Freschetta, Tony's, and Red Baron's to find out what they use for the enzymes in the cheese. I'm kinda bad about it, I just assume that if it says enzymes it's veg friendly, so I wouldn't know for sure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
504 Posts
If you're willing to try vegan pizza, Tofutti makes a good one. It might be a little hard to find, though. Their cheese is pretty similiar to one on Ellio's pizza. They make an Ellio's type and also one with bagels. The Ellio's type ones are better in my opinion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I emailed nestle about their tombstone pizza. They responded by saying that most of their cheeses do not contain animal derived enzymes. Mozzarella, cheddar, brick, colby and monetary Jack contain enzymes exclusively from microbial sources. However, their romano and asiago cheeses contain enzymes derived from lamb. Also, the l-cysteine is made from duck feathers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Red baron and many frozen pizzas are vegetarian

:DI just spoke with Red Baron 4 cheese Pizza and this pizza is 100% vegetarian, the main company has many brands. Another of their brands is Francheta 4 cheese and is 100% vegetarian. What I was told that only the speciality Pizzas has animal products the regular one don't


For more info text me
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Tony's Pizza is vegetarian

Hi there!

I asked Tony's if their "Pizzeria Style Cheese Pizza" cheese is vegetarian and they responded:

"Thanks for the inquiry. The cheese enzymes are microbial and plant based."​

So, hooray!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
396 Posts
Would that be considered ok by vegetarians though? By my logic l'd think yes
The human body is incapable of digesting feathers and hair.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
396 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Cabot

Their Processed American Cheese may contain animal rennet. It is made in a plant that is not possessed by Cabot and they can’t confirm it. However, all other cheeses vegetarian-friendly
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Pretty hard to eat frozen pizza, hehehehe

You can enhance pizzas with your own ingredients, it is not as good as making your own but it comes close.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top