VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this has been asked before.

I'm pretty new to vegetarianism- about two weeks so far, and though my appetite has gone down a lot (as well as cravings, which is really nice) I'm still looking for foods that are more filling. I'm really really hesitant to try fake meats, they creep me out for some reason. I'm just wondering on peoples opinions on fake meats? I bought some a few days ago- boca burgers, boca chik'n nuggets, and soy bacon.

I know there are some vegetarians/vegans out there who do not eat fake meats, for you guys, what are some foods you eat that are more filling?

·
Registered
7,858 Posts
Fake meats are pretty cool, sometimes - it's just that it's very hit and miss. Some can be terrible. I buy canned 'mock duck' made from gluten that is really nice, but expensive and Linda McCartney sausages. My choice of faux meats that are vegan is pretty limited round here so I don't really buy any others, but some that I loved while I was eating dairy & eggs are Quorn Bacon, 'Cauldren Foods' sausages, and beanfeast (a bolognase substitute). The choice where you are will liekly be very different, so I just reccommend you keep trying them until you find ones you really like.

Tofu is a really good one to bulk up almost anything, especially something with a sauce, and I don't class it as a fake meat. Pasta is really filling and is a staple for me, as are red lentils, kidney beans, and chickpeas.

·
Registered
141 Posts
To get full and stay that way for a bit, you'll need fiber and protein. Try a vegetarian chili with lots of cut up veggies- beans, tomatoes, cubed sweet potato, what ever other veggies you have in the fridge and chili spices- then to make it extra filling add some bulgur or couscous. Things like brown rice and quinoa are also filling. Pasta, as isowish mentioned, is also really filling.