Vegetarians do tend to avoid gelatin, but it's not considered meat so it's not necessarily considered not vegetarian. There are many vegetarians who don't even realize what it is and so they don't avoid it.
Gelatin is not vegetarian. (Unless you're talking about the non-animal derived variety.) But yes, there are still many vegetarians who eat it. I would make a distinction between foods that are vegetarian and foods that people who claim to be vegetarian might eat. If eating a non-vegetarian food makes a person a non-vegetarian is a matter of debate, I suppose. Some people just don't care about "trace ingredients" as they call it. Personally, I do (at least to a certain extent), but I don't think it's right to demand that they stop using the vegetarian label for that reason.
A forum community dedicated to vegetarian, vegans, and vegetable enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about agriculture, preparation, cooking, recipes, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!